Back to news

Shadi Habib Allah

Shadi Habib Allah selected for the Luma Award 2011

July 2011

Shadi Habib Allah has been selected for the Luma Award 2011.

"The artists nominated for this year's award, represent a focus upon research, archives, and what has broadly become known as "knowledge production." Rather than considering art as an isolated activity, they share a belief in the centrality of art and the image to the understanding of our time." (Maja Hoffmann)

The artists selected for the LUMA Award 2011 include: Shadi Habib Allah, Kenneth Anger, Uri Aran, Sharon Hayes, Desire Machine Collective, Aaron Flint Jamison, Helen Marten, Raya Martin, Jonas Mekas, Trevor Paglen, Christodoulos Panayiotou, James Richards, Albert Serra, Rania Stephan, and Erik Wysocan.

A publication for the LUMA Award 2011, published by Mousses Publishing and designed with Liam Gillick, documents the work of the fifteen artists, all working with the image and the archive, selected by Tom Eccles, Liam Gillick, Hans Ulrich Obrist, Philippe Parreno, and Beatrix Ruf.

LUMA Award 2011 is available at the Mousse Publishing website.